STAFF CHRISTMAS PARTY AND BROCCOLI CORNBREAD

My favorite time of year  – Christmas!  Outside of the fact that we celebrate the birth of my Savior during this time, I love Christmas because it is all about FUN!  And, I want to say that is totally me!

If it isn’t fun, I don’t want to do it.  Now, I recognize everyone has their own opinion of fun.  I don’t watch television.  Why? Other than the fact that there is very little on it that honors God, I tend to get quiet bored with it. I don’t listen to cd’s.  Why?  I tend to get bored with those too – same artist, same music genre, same, same, same.

And, then comes Christmas!  Excitement is in the air most places. Why? I don’t know, but it’s there.  For some reason, most people seem to be in elevated spirits.

One fun thing I get to do, is host our church staff Christmas party.  Depending on who you ask, I am not really on staff.  I’m an auxiliary person. At the last “staff meeting”, we discussed the Christmas party.  Some felt it was too much of a burden for me to host it.  My reply was that getting to host the party was the only thing that kept me going to the meetings all year!  🙂

This year was a PROBLEM!!  As much as I love to cook, sometimes I struggle with WHAT to cook.  And the night before our Christmas party, I still had not totally decided.

I thought about doing a Mexican bar.  I had seen several dishes that would be fun (yeah, there is that word again!). But, wow, all the appetizer ideas on Pinterest! Or, I could do something simple like a baked potato bar.

What to do, what to do?

While I was at mom’s over Thanksgiving, she said something about Broccoli Cornbread.  Ohhhhh, I really like that.  And it’s been a few years since I have made any.

I started getting hungry for Broccoli Cornbread.  I like cornbread, and we have it often.  I even found a recipe for blueberry cornbread recently.  Yeah, we ate that whole pan in one sitting!  Is it a sweet or is it a savory?  Never made that decision!  It was just good.

So, Broccoli Cornbread is what the entire meal was based on. Try it yourself.  I think you will agree, it is YUMMMMEEEEE!!!!!

Broccoli Cornbread

BROCCOLI CORNBREAD

4 cups Corn Meal (meal, not mix)

16 oz cooked and chopped broccoli

12 oz Cottage Cheese

5 eggs

1 cup melted butter

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup sugar

2 tbsp. coconut oil (or other oil)

4 tbsp. baking powder

2 tsp. salt

2 tsp baking soda

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Put oil in 9 x 13 pan and put in oven.

Mix corn meal, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar till well mixed. Add melted butter and cottage cheese.  Mix well. Batter will be thick.  Add milk a little at a time.  You want to keep a thick batter, but you don’t want your spoon to be able to stand upright in bowl.  Add broccoli.

Once oven is pre-heated, add heated oil to batter.  Pour in to pan.

Bake for 40 minutes, or until top is brown.

Enjoy!

No, if you are wanting a healthy dish, this isn’t going to qualify.  Look at all that fat! Sure it has broccoli, and you might try to convince yourself that it is healthy, but it ain’t happening! 🙂  One thing it has going for it other than flavor, is this version is gluten-free.  So take it to your next get together where you need to cater to a gluten-free audience.

Oh, what ended up being on the menu?  Individual meatloaf, Black-eyed pea salad, baked beans, glazed carrots, and of course, broccoli cornbread.  I fixed a gluten-free apple crumble for dessert (yes, it was all gluten-free). (Oh, and the picture of the cooked cornbread?  It didn’t happen.  Totally forgot about it!)

One thought on “STAFF CHRISTMAS PARTY AND BROCCOLI CORNBREAD

Leave a Reply

