NO FEAR DOES NOT EQUAL NO WISDOM (CON’T)

THE LORD IS ON MY SIDE, I WILL NOT FEAR. WHAT CAN MAN DO UNTO ME?

In the previous post, we discussed living a life with no fear.  There are common signs of ‘no fear’ in the world.  Seems like Nike had one a few years ago (maybe it still exists), then there is the NO FEAR, KNOW PEACE sign. Whatever you equate “no fear” with, I pray that it leads you to recognizing God’s place in your life.  Without Him, we should be in great fear.

But, since I have no fear, does that mean I have the ability to do whatever I want and not have damaging consequences?  No, I do not believe so.
After finally graduating from college, I continued along the path that I had felt called to. I moved to Ft. Worth to go to seminary, and applied to be a missionary in a volatile country.  I was single, and female. Two counts against me as I made my application.

As I continued the rigorous application process, there began to be signs that I would not be appointed to go where I felt like God had called me.

  • Do you remember the Alfred P. Murrah bombing in downtown Oklahoma City? I was 4 blocks from the event when it happened.  I would be totally lying to you if I said it did not have a negative impact on me.
  • Remember the family crisis I shared early?  Yep, that had a negative impact on me.

Over and over again, I could share instances where I might have trigger points if once again put in similar situations.  In the Board’s WISDOM, they felt that sending me to that volatile country would not be safe.

As I look back on that time, I really don’t know what the correct answer would be for me.  I was young, and very determined.  I’m older, yet still very determined.  But one thing I hope I have now that I hope I had then, is WISDOM. Would I have been able to stay out of harms way in that country? Would I have been safe? We don’t know the answer to that.  But, I hope I would have used WISDOM in the situations I was placed.

I have the wisdom to not go into situations that could lead me to harm. I have the faith, that when I am in situations that I did not put myself in, to know that whatever the outcome, God has it under control.

I don’t test God in this area.  I don’t walk in a land mine and say God will protect me.  That isn’t using wisdom. I’ll be the first to admit that I am a risk-taker. And let me tell you, sometimes that risk-taking self has landed me in places I did not want to be. I could tell you some stories…..but my mother might end up reading this, and I would be dead!!!! Yeah, I didn’t use wisdom, and I recognized it.  Sometimes a little too late.  Fortunately, I have been learning a little from those instances.  It’s been a few years since I took a risk that I was uncomfortable with later!

Over and over again in Scripture, we are admonished to fear God.  We see the benefits of doing so.  That fear is to live in reverence.  To not test Him.  To honor Him. In so doing, we are given wisdom.

Trust in God.

Trust in God.

Don’t walk in FEAR. Walk in Wisdom.

Leave a Reply

