JELLY – With a Little Bit of Hype(r)

I love my time in the kitchen. Have I mentioned that before?  Do you get it?  I sure hope so, because I do.  I love to find new things to make, as I do consider myself to be ADHD.  Our family menu is on a 60 day rotation, simply because I don’t want to get bored cooking the same ‘ole thing.

 

Somewhere, somehow, my explorations on the web led to my latest experiment in the kitchen.  Most of the time I know the trail, but not this time.   I wish I could tell you. No, I didn’t find it on Pinterest.  I wasn’t searching for it.  It just happened.  SOMETHING I was looking at (of course, it had to do with food) had a link that caught my attention. “MT. DEW JELLY”. I am not a Mt. Dew drinker, but I have to say, I was overwhelmingly intrigued.  So…..I followed the trail.  I discovered it was what it said.  Jelly made from Mt. Dew. Thus began my quest for other jelly’s made from drinks.  And, thus began my jelly making experience.  I have NEVER made jelly myself, prior to last week.  Now, I’m dreaming jelly…..:)

 

I explored to discover that *YES*, jelly could be made from Dr. Pepper.- WAHOOOOOO, that’s my drink.  Naturally, having never made jelly, I had to go buy some pectin, but that was the only missing ingredient.

 

Dr. Pepper Jelly (as written by Shawn C.), followed by my changes!

  • 3 cups Dr. Pepper cola
  • dry pectin (a small box)
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 3 drops red food coloring (optional)
  • 3 1/2 cups sugar
  • paraffin wax

Directions:

  1. Mix Dr. Pepper, powdered pectin and lemon juice in a large saucepan.
  2. Add coloring, if desired.
  3. Measure sugar into a bowl to add later.
  4. Place Dr. Pepper mixture over high heat and stir until mixture comes to a hard boil.
  5. At once stir in sugar.
  6. Bring to a full rolling boil and boil hard one minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, skim off foam with metal spoon and pour quickly into glasses.
  7. Cover at once with 1/8-inch hot paraffin.
  8. Allow several days to set.
  9. Makes about 3 16 oz jars
Following the above recipe makes a VERY sweet recipe! The next time I make this recipe, I will be reducing the sugar to 2 1/2 cups.  As someone mentioned: if the recipe then isn’t sweet enough, just add honey.  I like that plan.  I do like this.  I think the Dr. Pepper should be reduced down a bit to intensify the flavor of the Dr. Pepper.  Reducing the sugar also helps, I think. I did not add food coloring.  I don’t have a problem with the color of the jelly since it is Dr. Pepper.  For me, I would anticipate a dark color jelly.
Yes, I did cut the Dr. Pepper logo off the wrapping on a 16 oz bottle of Dr. Pepper.  Then I modge podged it on a jar.
I did use paraffin wax to seal my jelly.  If you do any research on this form of sealing, you will discover the USDA does not endorse this as a safe way to preserve.  If, when you open your jelly, there is visible mold, destroy immediately.  Do not risk your health or the health of those you love.
After I made my first batch of Dr. Pepper Jelly, I got excited.  It was wayyyyy to simple to leave at just Dr. Pepper.  I have a young lady friend that is graduating from college in May, and moving to Canada.  I have searched my brain for a going away gift for her.  It has to be something special.  THIS is something special!  Only, she is a coffee fiend, so…..the quest began to find coffee jelly. I found several recipes for a Coffee Jelly that is apparently a common dessert in Japan.  Nope, not what I am looking for.  After searching for a while, I found one!  I began with modifications!
Coffee Jelly (my recipe)
4 1/2 cups water (divided)
8 rounded tsp coffee
1 box of fruit pectin (1.75 oz)
4 cups sugar
Paraffin Wax
  • Brew 4 cups of water with coffee
  • Combine coffee, remaining water, and pectin in large sauce pan. Bring to boil, stirring continuously.
  • Add sugar at once. Bring back to a boil, continuously stirring.
  • Boil for 1 minute.
  • Remove from heat. Immediately fill jars.  Cover with paraffin wax.  Allow to cool.  Jelly will take a couple of days to properly set.
  • This recipe made about 8 8oz jars

COFFEE JELLY!!

 

This one is my favorite so far.  The flavor of the coffee is very distinct.  I ate this on a Graham Cracker with Cream Cheese!  OH MY!!!!

 

Go make you some jelly.  It’s easy and different.  What jelly would you want?  What would you eat the coffee jelly on? If you’re just not brave enough yet, go to http://www.etsy.com to find some jelly to purchase.  I did see that there is a vendor selling different soft drink jellies.

 

Love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “JELLY – With a Little Bit of Hype(r)

    • Hi Ava,
      So glad you asked. For starters – I am NO expert on canning! But, I THINK it can. It has the lemon juice which provides the acid that is my understanding of what makes items safe to hot water bath. I will try to do a little research to see if there is anything that would give us a better answer! Thanks for asking!

      • I actually just canned big red jelly, every blue soda jelly, and my dew jelly and I water bath canned them for 5 minutes. Turned out great

Leave a Reply

