THIRTY POUNDS OF POTATOES!!! OH MY!!!!

30 lbs of Potatoes!!! OH MY!

 

WHAT DO YOU DO WITH 30 LBS OF POTATOES????? If you’re already planning on an army, no big deal.  But what if you aren’t?

 

It is an absolutely gorgeous day outside.  My computer tells me it is 70 degrees.  I should be out on my motorcycle playing.  Well, not playing, building my strength.  Several months ago I fell and broke 4 bones.  Yep, that was me.  I have never broken a bone prior to this fall.  So, I decided to go big, and break 4 AT ONE TIME!!!! Still haven’t gotten all my strength back.  I rode to church last night for the first time of riding.  It was so nice to be back on my bike, but boy was there some pain.  So, see…..I should be out riding:)

 

Instead, I am inside with 30lbs of potatoes! Over the weekend, I discovered one of our local grocery stores was having a great sale.  The item I chose to stock up on was – you guessed it – potatoes.  And as I sit here typing this, I am realizing I still didn’t get enough!  How do I know that?  I bought the same amount in the fall, and am already out.  Gonna have to go back to the store!

 

So, what do you do with 30lbs of potatoes? Here’s what I do: FREEZE them!

 

You read just right – freeze them.  Here are my plans.

 

The first batch, I am making into homemade french fries.  We don’t eat french fries often, so I am only going to make about 5 lbs worth.

 

The first step is to par-boil the potatoes.  After you clean them thoroughly, put them in a large dutch oven to cook.  I allow mine to boil 20 minutes.  This will get them soft, but not too soft.

 

Once you par-boil them, allow them to cool to work with them.  I gave them about an hour.

 

Cut them according to your preferences.  I like to use a crinkle cutter for everything, so it is only natural to use it here.  Lay your potatoes out on a flat surface (I just left them on the cutting board), season.  I season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Place in freezer to freeze (individually quick freezer method).  Once they have frozen, place them in a freezer safe container (ziploc bag, vac-seal bag, other container).  When you are ready to cook them, cook just like you would any you bought from the store.

#2 Of what I am doing with 30lbs of potatoes:  HASH BROWNS!!! (about 15 lbs)

Here is another easy homemade solution that my son loves.  He greatly prefers homemade hash browns to any store bought *shock, I know*.

 

Once again, par-boil the potatoes (basically do this for all potatoes going in the freezer). Allow to cool.

Now, bring in the heavy equipmentMy husband bought this thing a few years ago when we were heavy in to estate sales. LOVE estate sales.  Just seems we don’t have time for them any more.  When he bought it, I tried to talk him out of it.  I just didn’t see why we would need a meat grinder that has 30 different blades!!!!

 

And oddly enough, I am the only one that uses it! 🙂  It’s old (I guess), but it does the job.  I actually enjoy having it around for occasions such as this!

 

Yep, in goes the potatoes.  It makes quick work of them for me.  Once again, lay the potatoes in a single layer (or as close to a single layer as you can get), season, and put them in the freezer.  Once they have frozen solid enough, break them up a bit, and put in freezer safe container.  When ready to cook: cook as you would any store bought frozen hash browns

 

#3 Hello Scalloped Potatoes! (5 lbs)

How often do you wish the scalloped potatoes were already scalloped?  This is my easy solution!  And because I have basically already given you the instructions, I’m not going to bore you with the process:)

 

Par-boil, cool, use slicer (different blade for me), lay flat on surface, season, freeze, when frozen place in freezer safe container. Cook when ready.

 

If you didn’t follow that, I am so sorry.  Let me know, and I will break it down for you.

 

#4 Diced Potatoes (5 lbs)

No heavy equipment needed here!  Once again, par-boil your potatoes and allow to cool.  Once potatoes have cooled, cut with knife (it doesn’t even have to be sharp!) Lay on flat surface.  Place in freeze.  Once frozen, put in freezer safe container.
This is great planning for your soups and stews.  I don’t know that I would use these potatoes for potato salad.  I think there would be too high of a moisture content.  Of course, you could always test a small amount first.

 

So, there you have it, 30 lbs of potatoes, preserved.  Stocked up on til the next great potato sale (should be in the fall)  I have 5 lbs of french fries, 5 lbs diced potatoes, 5 lb scalloped potatoes, and 15 lbs of hash browns and I paid $4!!!

 

What do you do with your potatoes when you get great bargains like that?

 

 

Leave a Reply

