HUHHHHH, as I was thinking of deleting my Facebook:)

Have you noticed all the negativity in Facebook?  I honestly can not remember a time when I felt encouraged as I logged off.  I like it, don’t get me wrong.  But, lately I find that it doesn’t lift me up.  In the world in which we live, I think we need to be lifted by others as much as possible, and I believe God’s Word tells us to do so.  Ephesians 4:29 :
“Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear” NASB

 

I think that is a great verse.  But what does it mean? And how does it apply?  For me, this is where Facebook has been a blessing for me.  There are so many times that I want to post something, but I reflect and realize it does not fit with Eph. 4:29.  I don’t want to fall in the category of those that are constantly bringing others down with their words on Facebook. I really do try to honor God with my words.  Sometimes it is a whole lot easier to do that when I am having to type it versus just verbalize it.  Have you ever posted a comment to Facebook, then went and deleted it?  Ohhhhhh, yahhhh.  I have.  And yeah for me, (as I pat myself on the back) I am doing that less and less!!  But, if you will notice, I don’t have all that many posts on Facebook these days either!

Back to the old adage: If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all!

What is the answer?  I don’t know.  As Christians, we are to be the light of the world.  We are to bring God’s word in to every part of our being.  Social media is a great place to do that, but are we effective?  I think it takes great effort to not participate in the negativism that is so often found on Facebook.

Here is a message I received from someone the other day. This person apparently has a Facebook that remains anonymous for just such messages as this, or I’m not techno enough to figure out who it is.  But, they do know a little about me as “Dancing with God” is no where on my Facebook page…..but I still think it’s interesting.  You will read their post, then my response.  I copied it from Facebook, typos and all.  How would you have responded to this?

Abour Dancing with God! He knows how full of hate you are…you make fun of other people, denigrate them…why everybody cant think, like…Shana…SO HOLLY! I do not care if you go to church everyday, but you are so hypocrite…You and your perfect (did I mention he “thinks” is soooo sophistacated?) yeah right, fron Harvard University, a plastic surgeon! See you next week…maybe you remember where! LOL Shana the Web

    • CarlosI am sorry I have offended you in some manner. As you have chosen to keep your identity concealed, I can not properly ask your forgiveness. I can ask you to pray for me as your perception of me is not one that I find edifying. My desire is to live for God, and my life reflect that. Unfortunately what you have chosen to say tells me that I have not been effective. If you decide to obey scripture and come to me to let me know what offence I have committed, I would love to have that corrected. Until then, just pray for me. I am blocking this facebook, and any other that come to me that are not people showing their identity. But I do welcome scriptural conflict resolution.

     

Now, in my defense, I am really thrown off by this person.  I have been told by others that I accept people more freely than most. I am personally offended when people talk about someone (good or bad, as that is gossip), and I can not imagine who I have made fun of.  I do wish this person would be honest about themselves so we could talk about it.

Not saying my response was the right one.  My first response was to block them without a written response.  But after I did that, I also felt that I should go back with what I replied.  Sure, what I said is already falling on what appears to be a hardened heart, but if I am to be a Light for God, is this a way to start?

 

Would love to hear from you on this…..

 

Leave a Reply

