HOMEMADE FROM THE HEART, FOR THE HEART

Do you have items in your pantry or freezer that you buy EVERY TIME you go to the grocery store? I’m thinking of that frozen pizza commercial where the mom is standing in front of the freezer aisle and one by one ticking off things on her “I-DON’T-WANT-THIS LIST” (because a) I don’t watch enough t.v. and b) I don’t buy frozen pizzas), I can’t give you the exacts of this commercial.  But she has a point: So many of the things we buy, really aren’t what we want.

Enter the INTERNET!!!  Just about everything you buy has a homemade counter-part.  Sure, we already knew that! But, we didn’t realize the ease in gaining that item.

  1. Knowing what goes in to your food,
  2. making it for less than you can buy it,
  3. and always having it on hand

are just three G-R-E-A-T reasons to go homemade. Here are just a few of the items I have been making, along with a couple that I want to try.

And, I’ve picked out some really simple recipes!

My newest favorite:  HOMEMADE CREAM OF ….SOUP

I had gotten to where I just didn’t buy “cream of….” soup, and chose not to make things with it.  I didn’t like the nutrition (or lack of) value it had, and often couldn’t justify the expense.  But, I now have my own little mix that took about three minutes to combine (at most) and I have it on hand whenever I want/need it.  And the fact that it has ingredients controlled by me is HUGE for me!  Naturally, this isn’t my recipe, I found it….where else….except PINTEREST!!!

CREAM OF “SOMETHING” SOUP

1 cup non-fat dried milk

3/4 cup cornstarch

1/4 cup bouillon (if you have cubes you have to crush them)

4 Tbsp  freeze dried minced onions

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried thyme

1 tsp pepper

For the equivalent of one can of condensed cream soup, mix 1/3 cup dry mix with 1 1/4 cup water. Cook until thick.

BROWN AND SERVE ROLLS

Homemade Brown & Serve Rolls

I don’t like to buy prepared rolls.  Why? We usually don’t eat them all before some go bad.  A family of  3 just doesn’t go through a 24 pack of rolls quickly!  Years ago, I started making my own bread, slowly.  Now I make a lot.  But just recently I discovered I could make my rolls, freeze them and have them when we wanted.  How?

I use a bread machine.  I actually have two, and both are being used RIGHT NOW.  I am in the process of making 250 brown and serve rolls! And it doesn’t take that long.  I may end up making more.  The 250 is for a church meal.  I need some more for our stock!

Find a recipe for rolls that you like.  I use the following recipe:

4 cups flour (for my family I use 2 cups bread flour, 2 cups wheat; for others I use 2 cups bread flour, 2 cups all-purpose)

1 1/2 cups warm – hot water

3 tbsp sugar (I like my rolls sweet)

2 tbsp butter

1 tbsp yeast

1 tsp salt

Combine ingredients according to your bread machine instructions. Use only the dough cycle.  For my machines, both take 1 hour 30 minutes.  Once the machine is complete, roll out your dough onto a floured surface. Knead just enough to be able to work your dough.  Divide dough in to 24 balls.

Place balls in a buttered or greased baking dish.  Spray tops with non-stick cooking oil. Cover with plastic wrap or tea towel. Let rise until double in size (depending on weather conditions 30 minutes – 1 hour)

Once Dough has risen sufficiently, place in a 275 degree preheated oven.  Bake for 30 – 35 minutes.  Just enough for the tops to START to turn brown.  Slightly golden. Remove from oven.  Allow to remain in baking dish to cool for 20 minutes.  Remove to a cooling rack to finish cooling.

Once the rolls have cooled, wrap to freeze.

When ready to serve rolls, remove from freezer.  Allow to thaw about 15 – 20 minutes. Return to a baking dish.  Place in 400 degree preheated oven for 15-20 minutes (depending on how golden brown you want them)  Remove from oven and serve.

Since this post is turning out to be so long, I am just going to list other items I do from scratch now.  This list is not comprehensive, but fyi…..you can find these items on the internet.
  • frozen hash browns
  • yogurt
  • granola
  • egg roll wrappers
  • anything bread: tortillas, pita bread, soft pretzels
  • homemade ranch dressing MIX
Try it, you’ll like it.  And you’ll love the rewards of making it yourself.
What “staples” do you make?
One thought on “HOMEMADE FROM THE HEART, FOR THE HEART

  1. Pingback: Menu Monday February 13 – Sunday February 19 | PS1186

Leave a Reply

