TRY WALKING A MILE IN SOMEONE ELSES SHOES

How many times have you heard that phrase?  We’ve all heard it thousands of times, and generally it’s to keep us from judging said person. Last night as I was mentally preparing for today, that thought came to mind…..only a little different.

I have Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. Nope, I’m not a kid.  Just diagnosed when I was a kid.  Therefore, it will always be JRA.  A few weeks ago, I began a series of workouts that my body wasn’t ready for, and I am still paying for it.  Haven’t been able to do much physically for almost two weeks now.  Walking gets the best of me.  Yesterday was a pretty good day, so I determined I would walk a mile today. That’s where the whole thought process of “try walking a mile in someone else’s shoes” began.

Today, I want to encourage you to walk a mile in your own shoes. WHAT?????? I know. That is really unheard of. And what do you mean? For so many, a mile is a great distance. Whether it be walking, running, riding a bicycle or just about anything other than using a motorized vehicle. How often is that mile quit before being achieved?

Now,  let’s continue the thought process, but metaphorically speaking.  So many people set New Year’s Resolutions….only by March 1, they are long gone. What about relationships? It seems so many people aren’t willing to stay committed to a relationship, whether it be marriage, or family. Stepping on some toes, I know, but education? God? A garden? A job? A hobby? The list could go on. It seems we are in a society where quitting soemthing before it becomes beneficial is the norm. Quitting when things are difficult is expected. Quitting ‘just because’ is okay.

I want to you to consider walking a mile in your own shoes.  What have you chosen to give up on? What is it just too hard to try at? It took me about 35 minutes to walk my mile.  When I had walked for ten minutes today I had almost talked myself into only walking about 20 minutes.  I was already in a lot of pain, and let me tell you the pace was excruciatingly slow for me. Fortunately, and I don’t know at what point it was, I talked myself in to keeping on going. Finishing my mile. I had that sense of accomplishment. I had worked through the pain. The pain was still there, but manageable. And tomorrow, I get to do it again. Sure, the pain will likely be there. It will be a struggle…..but come Thursday I am going further!

Hebrews 12:1 – Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

Acts 20:24 – However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me – the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.

Colossians 4:17 – Tell Archippus: See to it that you complete the work you have received in the Lord.

Today, I encourage you: Don’t be so concerned about walking a mile in someone else’s shoes.  Have you walked your mile?

Leave a Reply

